fbpx
Als Standardsprache festlegen
 Bearbeiten Übersetzung
durch Transposh - Übersetzungs-Plug-In für WordPress

Archiv der Kategorie: Herstellung Comics und Zeichensuperhelden

5 Kostenlose Social Media Tools zur Automatisierung Ihrer Social Media – Für # Comics Creators (Verbringen Sie mehr Zeit damit, Dinge zu machen!) #Indiecomics

 

Hier ist mein Cheatsheet für die TOP FIVE kostenlosen Social-Media-Automaten für Comic-Kreative und Superhelden-Romanciers. Fast alle meine sozialen Medien sind vollautomatisch, und doch wird es täglich oder jedes Mal aktualisiert, wenn ich etwas mache. Das spart Hunderte von Stunden für die Erstellung! Wir alle wissen, dass man manchmal persönlich werden muss, um wirklich mit Fans in Kontakt zu treten, und steigen Sie dort ein und sprechen Sie mit ihnen. Aber wenn Sie damit beschäftigt sind, Sachen zu machen, Es ist schön, jemanden zu haben (oder so) sonst redest du für dich. ich benutze:

  • IFTTT: Verbinden Sie alles mit allem, damit Sie automatisch von Blogspot- oder Nicht-Wordpress-Websites in sozialen Medien posten können
  • BulkBuffer mit Puffer: Laden Sie mehrere zukünftige Tweets und FB-Nachrichten gleichzeitig hoch
  • Auto-Poster für soziale Netzwerke: Posten Sie automatisch auf den meisten Social Media-Websites
  • Blog2Social: Posten Sie auf allen Social-Media-Sites gleichzeitig
  • Revive.Social oder Revive Old Posts: Veröffentlichen Sie Ihre alten Beiträge automatisch erneut

Mehr Info, und vollständige Bewertungen von all diesen, in dem kostenlose Broschüre!

5 Websites für Comicautoren zur Suche nach Künstlern #iartg #makecomics

Nachfolgend mit einigen unterschiedlichen Informationen aufgeführt:

1. Upwork.com
Ich habe selbst als Freiberufler auf dieser Seite gearbeitet; Jetzt benutze ich Upwork, um alle von Künstlern einzustellen
an Social-Media-Experten. Ich habe persönlich die beste Erfahrung mit Majority World gemacht (niedriges Einkommen
Nation) Künstler - ich war irgendwie verärgert, als der amerikanische Student, den ich anstellte, es nicht schaffte
Vervollständigen Sie alle tatsächlichen Arbeiten.

Auf der anderen Seite, Ich war auch ein junger Schöpfer aus einer reichen Nation, und ich bildete mich ernsthaft lange-
dauerhafte Geschäftsbeziehungen auf dieser Website, also, Weißt du. Stellen Sie einfach sicher, dass Sie ausnutzen

Anforderungen an das Überprüfungssystem und die Abschlussrichtlinien von Upwork, um sich selbst zu schützen. Stell sicher, dass du
Machen Sie die Anforderungen des Jobs im Voraus klar, und wenden Sie sich gegebenenfalls an einen Rechtsberater.
Das gilt wirklich für alle unten genannten Punkte.

2. https://forum.deviantart.com/jobs/offers/
Sie können Ihre aktive Stellenanfrage in diesem Forum veröffentlichen, oder stöbern Sie einfach in Deviantart nach dem Kunststil, den Sie haben
mag und kontaktiere einen Künstler direkt! Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die Regeln des Forums befolgen. Ich mag diese Website, weil
Es kostet Sie nichts extra, gute Talente zu finden.

3. https://www.freelancer.com/
Wie Upwork, aber teurer. Weniger regulierter Markt (breiteres Spektrum an Schwierigkeitsgraden), zu meinem Verständnis.
Hier gibt es viele Designtalente.

4. Fiverr.com
Erwarten Sie nicht, dass Sie hier Ihre volle zweiseitige Technicolor-Action-Szene für fünf Dollar bekommen - denken Sie mehr darüber nach
wie ein kleiner Streifen, oder wie Sie einen ordentlichen Kunstauftritt entdecken können, der Sie zu dem Künstler führt, den Sie am Ende haben
langfristige Verträge. Ich habe meinen Website-Designer und mehrere Formatierungsjobs für meine Bücher gefunden
durch diese Seite.

5. https://creativepool.com
Wie eine Social-Media-Site für Kreative.

Und bekomme 21 mehr in meinem speziellen kostenlosen PDF-Booklet.

Sequentielles Geschichtenerzählen: 9 Subtile Verbesserungen, die den künstlerischen Erfolg von Penny Arcade fördern

Ein bisschen mehr Comic-Kunst zum Analysieren. Überprüfen Sie dies heraus:

Garantien
Bitte besuchen Sie den Original-Comic bei https://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2020/04/20/teens Es ist ein kunstvoller Comic!
Ziemlich einfach, rechts? Diese Jungs verdienen Tausende von Dollar mit ihren Comics, ohne eine große Maschine hinter ihnen, auf etwas, das sie selbst gebaut haben, von Grund auf neu. Sie wissen also, was sie im Bereich Webcomics tun.

Zwei Notizen hier: Comic-Story-Tempo, und die kommunikative Bedeutung der Beschriftung und des Sprudelns.

Weiterlesen…

E-Mail-Betreffzeilen, dass die Arbeit für Comics Schöpfer und Scifi Writers #iartg #indiecomics

Hey es!

Du bist ein Schöpfer. Sie verkaufen Dinge per E-Mail. Und wie Sie wissen, Was gilt für Fitness-E-Mail-Marketer nicht auf Ihren Steampunk Elefanten komisch anwenden; Kilometerstand Variiert.

Ich habe ein wenig Zeit, das Studium der Experte Kopie Schöpfer verbrachte die Netto Tausende von Dollar pro E-Mail. Ich habe auch versucht, ihre Prinzipien zu COMICS Schöpfer und Scifi-Fans wie ich über mehrere Jahre und eine enge Nische von mehreren tausend E-Mail anwenden. voila, unten.

Und soweit ich Tracking, das Blog veröffentlichen Sie lesen online jetzt über E-Mail Betreffzeilen, dass die Arbeit für kleine Randkulturschaff wie ich die einzige Analyse ist und Sie.

Was ich von Experten Kopie Schöpfer gelernt:

  • in der Betreffzeile steigt ein Dollarzeichen setzen eröffnet. Für viele Texter, Betreffzeilen Geld noch Arbeit anbieten. “EIN $2000 ethische Bestechung?” und so weiter.
  • Von dem Gmail Boomerang Add-on (die ich sehr empfehlen), Computer-Analyse zeigte, dass Fragen stellen (Einlochen ?) in the subject line helps. Was das anbelangt, Fragen in der E-Mail erhöht die Ansprechrate zu fragen, und Betreffzeilen wie “Antworten auf Ihre Fragen” auch erzeugt Tausende von Klicks. Fragen implizieren Gespräch. Die Menschen wollen, dass weiterhin.
  • Erstellen Knappheit Werke. Betreffzeilen, die Arbeit von mehreren Ressourcen schien ich studiert (“Du hast es verpasst” oder “gültig bis heute Abend”) make Leser unangenehm genug, um klicken. Surrogat, Baby. Andere Betreffzeilen, dass auf andere Weise erstellt Beschwerden gearbeitet, auch, wie Angebot “eine schnelle Warnung,” oder “Bitte nicht böse sein” usw. Ihre E-Mail besser liefern tatsächlich auf die Bedrohung, Obwohl: viele von uns diese Verwendung von negativen Emotionen störend empfinden und Click-Köder-y. Ich wäre vorsichtig mit diesem speziell für Indie-Comics Fans, die in der Regel ein bisschen mehr zynisch sein.
  • free stuff verlosen sie wissen, über Werke (“Ich bin verlosen Tickets für XXX).

Was ich von meinen eigenen Tests auf ein paar tausend speziell Scifi oder Comics Leser über mehrere Jahre entdeckt:

  • Ich habe eine meiner höchsten offenen Raten, 56.7% Öffnungsrate, astoundingly hoch in dieser Branche, mit der einfachen Betreffzeile “Ich bin durchgefallen.” Das ist eine Sie verwenden kann,, auch. Das ist für mich gearbeitet, weil ich bereits eine Beziehung aufgebaut haben, so dass die Leute egal, ob ich versagt haben, aber natürlich gibt es nicht das menschliche Verlangen nach Schadenfreude zu leugnen. Die Leute wollen bei Zugwracke aussehen. geben sie vielleicht ein Zugunglück ab und zu.
  • Erhielt fast 50 Prozent, von meiner E-Mail-Adresse mit der Betreffzeile “Meine Künstler wurde geraubt.” Ich führe dies bereits persönliche Beziehung aufgebaut, und der Sinn für Dramatik der persönlichen “meine” und die Anweisung erstellen. Gewährt, zu diesem Zeitpunkt war meine offene Rate etwas erhöht, weil ich hatte nur gespült Nicht-Öffner (etwas, das Sie auf jeden Fall tun sollten), aber das Ergebnis steht noch: erzählen eine Geschichte in einem Satz.
  • 41% Öffnungsrate für “Jetzt können Sie Geld aus MY Scifi verdienen! Ebenfalls, mehr Organismus städtischen Raum Oper”. Mehrere E-Mails in der jeweiligen Serie hatten offene Raten über 40 Prozent, wahrscheinlich wegen Interesse durch die Serie gebaut (Leute wollen das Lesen halten, was sie bereits lesen). Aber the offer of money didn’t hurt.
  • Vergangenes Jahr, “Dachte, dass ich dich verloren” überstand 50 Prozent eröffnet, eine Reihe im Allgemeinen unbekannt in E-Mail-Marketing. Dies verwendet die gleiche “Drohung” oben beschriebene Prinzip. Use negative emotion carefully.
  • “Was seltsam Abenteuer Geschick tun Sie lernen wollen? Kann ich helfen?” überstand 50 Prozent als auch im vergangenen Jahr. Nochmal, dass ganze Reihe tat gut, weil ich teilen, in Stücken, diese Scifi Geschichte in einer Stadt leben, aus organischen bewegenden Fluren. Aber this e-mail stood out above the rest because of the question.
  • “Cowboy-Hut, Photon-Blaster, und tausend Dollar-Frage.” 40 Prozent Öffnungsrate. Diese seltsam scifi Listen der Dinge sind in der Regel gute, offene Angebote für mich bekommen, aber in der Regel um den niedrigen 40ern. Es hilft, dass diese bestimmte Betreffzeile enthalten Geld und das Wort Frage.
  • At a whopping 63 percent sits the simple subject line from two years ago: “You left this at my house. I can’t find the AB test, but I am fairly sure I tested this same subject line againstThis belongs to you.AB testing helped with my open rates a lot in the beginning. It’s a neat feature you can use in Mailchimp. It didn’t go so well when I tried to repeat a similar subject line too close to the originalyou left this at my house.
  • My open rates went up, allgemein, when I changed my e-mail format to something my subscribers could understand and expect. I went from an average of twenties to an average of forties by rebranding asyour scifi superhero sister,” where I send ONE scifi story and ONE #superheroalert in each e-mail, and try to keep the chit-chat short. I let people know up front what to expect by setting that standard with a series of automated e-mails they get as soon as they join my list. This gets people in the habit of clicking my e-mails for free things, and then eventually when I send out my marketing e-mails they click to buy things.

Beachten Sie, dass für eine kleine, engmaschiges, Nischenpublikum wie meins, Ich habe höhere Erwartungen Gesamt: während Mailchimp listet die durchschnittlichen Künstler Industrie bei etwa 35 Prozent, Ich erwarte, dass die Öffnungsraten viel höher, und betrachten im Allgemeinen ein 22 Prozent ein Versagen wenn auch in anderen Branchen, die sehr gut ist,. Dieses Bild ist sehr verbreitet für Indie-Fiction-Macher, deren Arbeit stützt sich auf eine enge emotionale Verbindung mehr als die meisten anderen Branchen. Zu jeder Zeit, Ich habe nicht mehr als 2000 Abonnenten; Ich habe über 6000 zu 7000 verschiedenen Kontakte zu einem Zeitpunkt oder ein anderes, aber ich bereinigen aggressiv Menschen, die nicht meine Arbeit gehen lesen. Sie wollen nicht ihre Zeit oder bei mir verschwenden. Und dass Skalen bis: die großen erfolgreichen Macher mit Tausenden von tollwütigen Fans starten von einer Basis von ein paar hundert tollwütigen Fans, but the key is still rabies.

Erstellen Tollwut durch eine Geschichte mit Ihren Betreff-Zeilen zu erzählen. Das ist unter dem Strich für Fiktion Schöpfer, und die Hauptsache, die uns von dem Rest der E-Mail-Marketing-Branche setzt. Wir erzählen Geschichten.

Lassen Sie uns Hebelwirkung, dass.

Oh, und weil Sie bis zum Ende gelesen, und ich weiß, Sie ernsthaft über Ihre Arbeit zu verkaufen, Sie können ein kostenloses Marketing-Buch haben ich gemacht: fünfzig kostenlose oder günstige Ressourcen, um Ihr kreatives Marketing für Sie zu automatisieren! Genießen. -_ ^

46 Die Diskussionen über Writing Tips – Für Fiction und #Comics Writers (#iartg)

Hallo Freund, nur dachte ich Sie auf diesen Link und Aktien fallen würde. Ich bin ein Codex Neopro und mehrfach preis nominiert traditionellen und Indie Autor veröffentlicht, die regelmäßig in den Halbfinals der nationalen Wettbewerbe erscheint, so, während ich habe einen langen Weg zu gehen,, Ich habe einige Gedanken, die Sie könnten helfen. Grundsätzlich, in diesem Blog diskutieren ich alles von Ethik Theorie schreiben–also, könnten wir darüber reden, ob bestimmte Comics Auswahl drücken Ungleichheit, ob oder nicht, dass Sie mehr Geld Schreiben Multigenre oder in einem Genre verdienen, oder wie für einen guten Zweck zu schreiben könnten Sie tatsächlich Geld als Autor erhalten.

Die vollständigen Blog-Liste ist . Ich hoffe dir gefällt es! Es ist fast 50 verschiedene Diskussionen und Beiträge zum Schreiben, von meinem dummen Gehirn. Lassen Sie mich wissen, wie es Ihnen helfen kann, besser!

Nicht immer Verwenden FundingSuccessful.com für #Comics #Crowdfunding

Die Finanzierung Erfolgreiche kontaktierte mich während meiner Crowdfunding-Kampagne viel versprechend:

„Die Finanzierung Erfolgreiche ist spezialisiert auf E-Mail-Campaigning, Projektmarketing, Social Media Marketing und vieles mehr. Wir haben bestehende backers Liste bekam, einzelne Käufer Liste, Blogger, Beeinflusser und mehr. Mit unseren Dienstleistungen, Sie bekommen mehr Verkehr und Geldgeber.“

zusätzlich, Sie haben versprochen:

„Wir bieten auch 500 backers Kontakte, die bereits viele Projekte auf Kickstarter und Indiegogo.“Sie versprach auch markt gezielte Social-Media-backed, sagen, sie hatten bereits Kontakte in meinem speziellen Bereich (Comic).

Ich habe meine Crowdfunding zwischen 50 und 75% Finanzierung, und ich dachte, wenn ich-jemand ohne Marketing-Hintergrund-könnte erhöhen $2000 auf meinem eigenen, auch dieser Dienst kann meinen Crowdfunding leicht beenden out, Ja?

Nee.

Weiterlesen…

#Art Tips with Kevin Chin (How to Make #Comics and Draw Superheroes #2)

From Kevin T. Chin on https://www.instagram.com/kevinchinart

I am super-psyched to share art tips for you from successful video game and concept artist Kevin Chin, who I had the pleasure of meeting at Wizard World Austin after drooling over his delicately detailed digitals online. If you’re an avid Warhammer 40K player, you’ve probably seen some of his stuff; if your tastes run to the other end of the toughness gamut, and you’ve played Epic Mickey 2, you’ve definitely seen his stuff. He used to work for Disney Interactive, and now he’s the Senior Concept Artist at KingsIsle Entertainment. You’ve seen his stuff.

Here’s your chance to learn a tiny bit from that stuff! Weiterlesen…

Wie Sie Ihre #comics allen socials zugleich posten (#makecomics

2020 Aktualisieren: Zurück in 2017 Blog2Social hatte eine Sicherheitslücke, die einen Phishing-Versuch auf meiner Seite verursacht. Ich löschte das Plug-in, kontaktiert sie, und nach etwa einem Jahr wieder installierte die Plug-in. Werden keine weiteren Phishing-Probleme hat seit, so sieht es aus wie das Sicherheitsproblem festgelegt ist. Nur die vollständige Offenlegung ihrer Information.

Wie sehen Sie Ihre Comics auf allen TEH SOCIALS fördern? Es ist eine der Fragen, die vor kurzem auf die aufkommen Webcomics Facebook-Gruppe Ich bin ein Teil von. Sollten Sie einmal die Mühe, Ihre Comics auf socials veröffentlichen? Wenn ja, die sozialen Medien sollten Sie sich die Mühe mit, wie auch immer?

Es ist besser, eine soziale gut zu tun, als eine Million schlecht zu tun. jedoch, Je mehr Orte, um Ihre Comic-Online existiert, desto mehr Möglichkeiten andere Menschen hinein laufen. Posting auf mehrere socials bietet auch eine große Back-up im Falle Ihrer Website untergeht (wie mir der Fall war im letzten Monat), und, vor allem von allen–

Je mehr High-Profile-Websites, die auf Ihre Website, die bessere Platzierung seiner in Google.

Oh verdammt! Sie wissen, was als High-Profile-Website qualifiziert? Twitter, instagram, Facebook, die Werke!

Deshalb begann ich meine Comics auf die socials Entsendung Ich nicht alle die Zeit nutzen,. Und weisst du was? Da fing ich an, das zu tun, meine Ansichten wurden von Zehn multipliziert, Yay! ABER OH MY GOSH IT ist mühsam und schrecklich zu versuchen, in und nach zu einer Unmenge Websites Social-Media-holy crap Warum soll ich tun, um Protokoll, das–

Also ich weiß nicht. Ich verwende das Blog2Social Wordpress-Plug-in, was bedeutet, dass direkt nach dem ich einen Beitrag beenden, Ich bekomme eine Seite, dass das sieht aus wie: Weiterlesen…

fbpx
 Edit Translation
by Transposh - translation plugin for wordpress

Category Archives: Making Comics and Drawing Superheroes

5 Free Social Media Tools To Automate Your Social Media – For #Comics Creators (Spend more time making stuff!) #indiecomics

 

Here’s my cheatsheet for the TOP FIVE free social media automators for comics creatives and superhero novelists. Almost all my social media is completely automatic, and yet it updates daily or every time I make something. That’s hundreds of hours saved for creating! We all know that to truly connect with fans you’ve got to get personal sometimes, and get on there and talk to them. But when you’re busy making stuff, it’s nice to have someone (or something) else do your talking for you. I use:

  • IFTTT: Connect anything to anything so you can post to social media automatically from Blogspot or non-Wordpress websites
  • BulkBuffer with Buffer: Upload multiple future tweets and FB messages at one time
  • Social Networks Auto-Poster: Post to most social media sites automatically
  • Blog2Social: Post to all social media sites at once
  • Revive.Social or Revive Old Posts: Automatically re-post your old posts

More info, and full reviews of all of these, in the free booklet!

5 Sites for Comic Writers to Find Artists #iartg #makecomics

Listed with some varying information below:

1. Upwork.com
I used to work as a freelancer on this site myself; now I use Upwork to hire everyone from artists
to social media experts. I’ve had the best experience personally with Majority World (low income
nation) artists—I got kind of annoyed when the American college student I hired failed to
complete any actual work.

On the other hand, I was also a young creator from a wealthy nation, and I formed serious long-
lasting business relationships on this site, so, you know. Just make sure you take advantage of

Upwork’s review system and completion policy requirements to protect yourself. Make sure you
make the requirements of the job clear up front, and if necessary consult a legal advisor.
That really goes for all of the below.

2. https://forum.deviantart.com/jobs/offers/
You can post your active job request on this forum, or just browse Deviantart for the art style you
like and contact an artist directly! Make sure to follow the forum rules. I like this website because
it won’t cost you anything extra to find good talent.

3. https://www.freelancer.com/
Like Upwork, but pricier. Less regulated market (wider range of skill levels), to my understanding.
Lots of design talent available here.

4. Fiverr.com
Don’t expect to get your full two-page technicolor action scene here for five bucks—think more
like a small strip, or like you can discover a neat art gig that leads you to the artist you end up
contracting long-term. I found my website designer and several formatting jobs for my books
through this site.

5. https://creativepool.com
Like a social media site for creatives.

And get 21 more in my special free pdf booklet.

Sequential Storytelling: 9 Subtle Tweaks that Drive Penny Arcade’s Artistic Success

A little more comic art to analyze. Check this out:

Quaranteens
Please visit the original comic at its home at https://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2020/04/20/teens It’s an artful comic!
Pretty simple, right? These guys make thousands of dollars on their comics, without a big machine behind them, on something they built themselves, from scratch. So they know what they’re doing in the webcomics sphere.

Two notes here: comic story pacing, and the communicative importance of the lettering and bubbling.

Read More…

E-mail Subject Lines that WORK for Comics Creators and Scifi Writers #iartg #indiecomics

Hey there!

You’re a creator. You sell things via e-mail. And as you know, what applies to fitness e-mail marketers may not apply to your steampunk elephant comic; mileage varies.

I’ve spent a little time studying the expert copy creators who net thousands of dollars per e-mail. I’ve also tried applying their principles to COMICS creators and scifi fans like myself over several years and a tight niche of several thousand e-mails. Voila, below.

And as far as I’m tracking, the blog post you’re reading is the only analysis available online now about e-mail subject lines that work for small fringe culture creators like me and you.

What I’ve learned from expert copy creators:

  • Putting a dollar sign in your subject line increases opens. For a lot of copywriters, subject lines offering money still work. “A $2000 ethical bribe?” and so forth.
  • From the Gmail Boomerang add-on (which I highly recommend), computer analysis demonstrated that asking questions (putting a ?) in the subject line helps. For that matter, asking questions in the e-mail increases response rate, and subject lines like “Your Questions Answered” also generated thousands of clicks. Questions imply conversation. People want to continue that.
  • Creating scarcity works. Subject lines that seemed to work from several resources I studied (“you missed it” or “expires tonight”) make readers uncomfortable enough to click. FOMO, baby. Other subject lines that created discomfort in other ways worked, too, like offering “a quick warning,” or “Please don’t be angry” etc. Your e-mail better actually deliver on the threat, though: a lot of us find this use of negative emotion annoying and click-bait-y. I would be careful using this specifically for indie comics fans, who tend to be a bit more cynical.
  • Giving away free stuff they know about works (“I’m giving away tickets to XXX).

What I discovered from my own tests on a couple thousand specifically scifi or comics readers over several years:

  • I got one of my highest open rates, 56.7% open rate, astoundingly high in this industry, with the simple subject line “I failed.” That’s one you can use, too. This worked for me because I’ve already built up a relationship, so people care if I’ve failed, but of course there’s no denying the human desire for schadenfreude. People want to look at train wrecks. Maybe give them a train wreck every now and then.
  • Got almost 50 percent, from my e-mail address with the subject line “My artist got robbed.” I attribute this to PERSONAL relationship already built up, and the sense of drama the personal “my” and the statement create. Granted, at that time my open rate was somewhat increased because I had just purged non-openers (something you should definitely do), but the result still stands: tell a story in one sentence.
  • 41% open rate for “Now YOU can earn money off MY scifi! Also, more organism-city space opera”. Several e-mails in that particular series had open rates over 40 percent, likely because of interest built by the series (people want to keep reading what they’re already reading). But the offer of money didn’t hurt.
  • Last year, “Thought I’d lost you” got over 50 percent opens, a number generally unheard of in e-mail marketing. This uses the same “threat” principle described above. Use negative emotion carefully.
  • “What weird adventure skill do you want to learn? Can I help?” got over 50 percent as well last year. Again, that entire series did well because I was sharing, in pieces, this scifi story about living in a city made of organic moving hallways. But this e-mail stood out above the rest because of the question.
  • “Cowboy hat, photon blaster, and a thousand dollar question.” 40 percent open rate. These weird scifi lists of things tend to get good open rates for me, but usually around the low 40s. It helps that this particular subject line included money and the word question.
  • At a whopping 63 percent sits the simple subject line from two years ago: “You left this at my house”. I can’t find the AB test, but I am fairly sure I tested this same subject line against “This belongs to you.” AB testing helped with my open rates a lot in the beginning. It’s a neat feature you can use in Mailchimp. It didn’t go so well when I tried to repeat a similar subject line too close to the original “you left this at my house.”
  • My open rates went up, in general, when I changed my e-mail format to something my subscribers could understand and expect. I went from an average of twenties to an average of forties by rebranding as “your scifi superhero sister,” where I send ONE scifi story and ONE #superheroalert in each e-mail, and try to keep the chit-chat short. I let people know up front what to expect by setting that standard with a series of automated e-mails they get as soon as they join my list. This gets people in the habit of clicking my e-mails for free things, and then eventually when I send out my marketing e-mails they click to buy things.

Note that for a small, tight-knit, niche audience like mine, I have higher expectations overall: while Mailchimp lists the artist industry average at about 35 percent, I expect open rates much higher, and generally consider a 22 percent a failure even though in other industries that’s quite good. This picture is pretty common for indie fiction creators, whose work relies on close emotional connection more than most other industries. At any one time, I have no more than 2000 subscribers; I have had over 6000 to 7000 various contacts at one time or another, but I aggressively purge people who aren’t going to read my work. Don’t want to waste their time or mine. And that scales up: the big successful creators with thousands of rabid fans start from a base of a few hundred rabid fans, but the key is still rabies.

Create rabies by telling a story with your subject lines. That’s the bottom line for fiction creators, and the main thing that sets us apart from the rest of the e-mail marketing industry. We tell stories.

Let’s leverage that.

Oh, and because you read to the end, and I know you’re serious about selling your work, you can have a free marketing book I made: fifty free or cheap resources to automate your creative marketing FOR YOU! Enjoy. -_^

46 Discussions on Writing Tips – For Fiction and #Comics Writers (#iartg)

Hey friend, just thought I’d drop you this link and share. I’m a Codex neopro and multiply award-nominated traditional and indie published author who regularly appears in the semi-finals of national competitions, so while I’ve got a long way to go, I do have some thoughts that might help you out. Basically, on this blog I discuss everything from writing ethics to theory–so, we might talk about whether or not certain comics choices push inequality, whether or not you’ll earn more money writing multigenre or in one genre, or how writing for charity could actually get you money as an author.

The full blog list is . Hope you enjoy! It’s almost 50 different discussions and posts on writing, from my silly brain. Let me know how it can help you better!

Don’t EVER Use FundingSuccessful.com for #Comics #Crowdfunding

Funding Successful contacted me during my crowdfunding campaign promising:

“Funding Successful specializes in Email Campaigning, Project Marketing, Social Media Marketing and much more. We have got existing backers list, individual buyers list, bloggers, Influencers and more. With our services, you get more traffic and backers.”

Additionally, they promised:

“We’re also offering 500 backers contacts who already backed many projects on Kickstarter and Indiegogo.” They also promised market-targeted social media, saying they already had contacts in my specific field (Comics).

I completed my crowdfunding to between 50 and 75% funding, and I figured if I–someone with no marketing background–could raise $2000 on my own, well this service could easily finish out my crowdfunding, yes?

Nope.

Read More…

#Art Tips with Kevin Chin (How to Make #Comics and Draw Superheroes #2)

From Kevin T. Chin on https://www.instagram.com/kevinchinart

I am super-psyched to share art tips for you from successful video game and concept artist Kevin Chin, who I had the pleasure of meeting at Wizard World Austin after drooling over his delicately detailed digitals online. If you’re an avid Warhammer 40K player, you’ve probably seen some of his stuff; if your tastes run to the other end of the toughness gamut, and you’ve played Epic Mickey 2, you’ve definitely seen his stuff. He used to work for Disney Interactive, and now he’s the Senior Concept Artist at KingsIsle Entertainment. You’ve seen his stuff.

Here’s your chance to learn a tiny bit from that stuff! Read More…

How to post your #comics to all the socials at the same time (#makecomics

2020 Update: Back in 2017 Blog2Social had a security leak that caused a phishing attempt on my site. I deleted the plug-in, contacted them, and after about a year reinstalled the plug-in. Haven’t had any more phishing issues since, so it looks like the security issue’s fixed. Just full disclosure fyi.

How do you promote your comics on all TEH SOCIALS? It’s one of the questions that came up recently on the Webcomics Facebook Group I’m part of. Should you even bother posting your comics on socials? If so, which social media outlets should you bother with, anyway?

It’s better to do one social well than to do a million poorly. However, the more places your comic exists online, the more opportunities other people have to run into it. Posting to multiple socials also provides a great back-up in case your site goes down (like mine did last month), and, most importantly of all–

The more high-profile websites that link to your website, the better its ranking in Google.

Oh snap! You know what qualifies as a high-profile website? Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, the works!

That’s why I started posting my comics to the socials I don’t use all the time. And you know what? Since I started doing that, my views have multiplied by tens, yay! BUT OH MY GOSH IT IS TEDIOUS AND HORRIBLE to try to log in and post to a gazillion social media sites HOLY CRAP WHY WOULD I DO THAT–

So I don’t. I use the Blog2Social WordPress plug-in, which means that right after I finish a post, I get a page that looks like this: Read More…