Edit Translation

Therapy for Superheroes, Page 8. (A prequel to the #comics character who shoots his author. #becominghero)

Updates Saturdays, artist Nathan Ssagala.

 

 

(An informal webcomic in the world of BECOMING HERO, the novel about a comic book character who shoots his author, and the comic book reader who may have to stop him. Great meta superhero fiction for fans of Deadpool, Animal Man, Last Action Hero, Stranger than Fiction, Superboy-Prime, She-Hulk, Cerebrus the Aardvark, AmbushBug, and other author-meeting fourth-wall-breaking “rage against the author” tropists.)

↓ Transcript
Panel 1
Dialogue continues from the “you gotta start somewhere” into Natasha putting up signs for her help-the-homeless club. Ironically enough, someone else says that. They're trying to get her to join NHS, and she's very not about point systems. She wants to make an actual difference.

Teacher:
“Just make the signs, Natasha, and donate some toothpaste.”
Natasha: “I don’t have time to buy toothpaste! I want to actually go out and help people!”
Teacher: “These are the NHS sanctioned activities, Nat. You gotta start somewhere.”

Panel 2
Nat — walking away: “I’ll start somewhere. I’ll start my own club.”

Panel 3
Natasha out on the street with four other girls, all different sizes (some skinny, some fat, etc).

Girl 1: “So we’re helping the homeless?”
Girl 2: “We don’t have anything they need.”
Girl 3: “I have five bucks.”
Natasha: “That’s twelve hot dogs, right there. People need food.”
Girl 4: “You’ve gotta start somewhere.”

Panel 4
They’re in the supermarket, buying hot dogs. Natasha is walking on the edge of one of the shelves.

Natasha: “We’ll get bigger, of course. Go to the root of things.”
Girl 1: “What do you mean, the root?”
Natasha: “Well, why are people homeless?”
Girl 2: “Because they’re doing drugs?”
Natasha: “False, but okay, sure. Why is someone doing drugs?”

Panel 5: Still in the supermarket

Girl 3: “Because…they’re dumb?”
Natasha: “Is your older brother dumb?”
Girl 3: “My mom thinks he is.”
Natasha: “Maybe he’s sad, or hopeless, and drugs make him feel better. Maybe the root is whatever’s keeping him from dreaming big.”
Girl 3: “You can’t just ‘solve’ people like that, Natasha.”